The site of the Mortlake Tapestry Works is marked by a stone in a small park...
Dee, Tapestry Works and the Queen's Head
John Dee the renaissance scholar and scientist, came to Mortlake in 1566 and lived in a house opposite the Church. His estate was purchased to set up the Tapestry Works in 1619. The Queen's Head was built on land bought after the closure of the Tapestry Works in the early eighteenth century.
Taken from http://www.barnes-history.org.uk/